WHO AM I?

I am a clinical social worker and relational psychotherapist. I have worked in the US and in Morocco before more recently moving to Paris.

 

In Washington, I provided psychological counseling and day to day support to both anglophone and francophone adults and teens with severe pathologies, traumas, and addictions.

 

During my four years living in Rabat, I had my private practice where I worked with a wide range of individuals on an equally wide range of presenting problems (including intra-family violence, bi-cultural couples, children spread out between two countries post-divorce, extreme academic pressure on young students, etc.).

I now practice in Paris and still work in both English and French.

BV photo ident.jpg

I offer psychotherapy consultations for individuals, couples, and families, as well as parental guidance. In this capacity, I am trained to accompany and support parents. For this purpose, I use Positive Discipline® -- an encouragement-based appraoch -- to help parents identify difficulties in their child, in being authoritative (strict and warm) rather than authoritarian. I also provide parents with guidance on issues related to their children's upbringing.

Having lived as an expat for 25+ years, I am a trained intercultural and global living specialist dealing with uprooting, raising "third culture kids", and cultural adjustment. Through these experiences and formal trainings, I am very familiar with issues related to life transitions of all sorts.

On top of private sessions with clients, I facilitate thematic workshops on specific subjects of concern for parents and educators.

My clients are children, adolescents, adults, families, or couples. For more information, please visit my Services page.

my training

I am a clinical social worker by training and I hold a Master in Social Work (MSW) from the Catholic University of America (CUA) in Washington, DC.


Trained as a Positive Discipline® Parent Educator and Educator in the Classroom, I offer parental guidance to promote encouragement and more respectful relationships within the family. In this context, I offer individual or family sessions with parents, children, and adolescents.


In order to enhance the quality of my interventions with clients, I have followed continuing education trainings on various subjects such as interculturalism, suicide prevention and grief, harassment and trauma, risk behavior, and mindfulness and sexocorporal approaches, etc.

MY VALUES

I practice according to the Code of Ethics of my profession, more specifically of the French National Union of Relational Psychotherapists and Psychoanalysts (SNPPsy), of which I am a member. A copy of this code of ethics is available on demand.


I counsel each individual in strict confidentiality, taking respectfully into account one's identity, values and beliefs.


I actively listen with empathy and without judgment. Encouragement is also a pillar of my practice.

mY THERAPEUTIC APPROACH

My therapeutic approach focuses on a collaborative effort between the client and the psychotherapist.


Individuals I work with find me to be warm and easygoing. Their decision to seek out counseling and to do some personal work commands a great deal of respect on my part. I dedicate myself fully to bringing them support and solace in the situations they are facing. I focus on highlighting their strengths to enhance their confidence in their own capacities to overcome their personal challenges.

 

People come to me presenting problems mainly related to family or marital issues, uprooting, inter-generational conflicts, life transitions of all sorts (adolescence, unemployment, adoption, geographical move, divorce, empty nest, menopause, retirement, becoming a grand-parent/step-parent/in-law) and their associated symptoms: anxiety, OCD, depression, trauma, feelings of isolation and/or of uselessness, etc.

 

An initial phone conversation with a new client is an opportunity to introduce the work conditions according to the needs and availability of both parties.

Finding a satisfactory life balance and a socially gratifying place, feeling motivated again, soothing the pain or resolving conflicts, learning to -- as parent-- reinstate a fair/balanced authority over children...these are only some of the many goals I can help my clients achieve, in working with them side by side.

For more information, please visit my Services page.

My tools and Resources 

My practice is mainly psychodynamic. I use relational therapy to support my clients. I interact with my clients as equals and through encouragement I foster their personal engagement into the therapy.

 

Family system therapy or cognitive behavioral therapy may also come into play, if the treatment requires.

 

My approach is therefore integrative and I use the most appropriate method to serve the needs of my client in order to increase their well-being.

 

Positive Discipline is also an essential resource in parental counseling.

 

If needed, role-playing, relaxation, or drawing are also in my tool box.

For more information, please visit my Services page.

RATES

Individual consultation (50 minutes): 80 Euros

Couple or family consultation (75 minutes): 120 Euros

Qui Suis-je?

Psychopraticienne en psychothérapie relationnelle, j’ai travaillé aux Etats-Unis et au Maroc avant de m'installer en France.

 

D'abord à Washington, j'ai en effet assuré le suivi clinique d'adultes et d'adolescents anglophones et francophones souffrant de pathologies lourdes, de traumatismes et d'addictions dans un centre psycho-médicosocial.

Puis, pendant quatre ans à Rabat au Maroc, j'ai exercé comme psychologue clinicienne auprès de populations très variées, sur des problématiques 
également tr
ès variées (telles que les violences intrafamiliales, les couples biculturels, les enfants du divorce écartelés entre deux pays, l'extrême pression scolaire sur les enfants dans la perspective d'un meilleur avenir, etc.).

Je suis maintenant installée à Paris et je travaille en français et en anglais.

Je reçois en consultation de psychothérapie individuelle, de couple, familiale ou de guidance parentale. A ce titre, je suis spécialisée dans l'accompagnement et l'éducation parentale et j'utilise une approche fondée sur l'encouragement -- la Discipline Positive® -- pour aider les parents à identifier les difficultés que peuvent rencontrer leurs enfants, à poser une autorité juste, en toute bienveillance, ou bien sur des questions ponctuelles relatives à l'éducation de leurs enfants.

 

Expatriée pendant 25 ans, j'ai une spécialisation inter-culturelle (qui recouvre des aspects aussi divers que déracinement, élever des enfants dans une tierce culture, l'ajustement culturel tout en conservant sa culture d'origine) et connais bien les problématiques relatives à ce qu'on appelle les "transitions de vie".

J’anime, en marge de mon cabinet, des soirées thématiques sur les sujets de préoccupation des parents et éducateurs.

Mes clients sont des enfants, des adolescents, des adultes, des familles ou des couples. Veuillez consulter la page Mes services pour en savoir plus.

Ma formation

J'ai étudié la psychologie clinique et obtenu un Master of Social Work (MSW), clinical concentration (equivalent d'un Master 2 en psychologie clinique) que j'ai obtenu à l’Université Catholique d'Amérique (CUA) de Washington, DC aux Etats-Unis.

Formée à la Discipline Positive®, une approche basée sur une communication respectueuse, et des interactions encourageantes à la maison ou en classe, je propose de la guidance parentale pour favoriser les bonnes relations entre générations. Dans ce contexte, je reçois des parents, des enfants et des adolescents, en séances soit individuelles ou en thérapies familiales

Les formations complémentaires que j’ai pu suivre dans différents domaines (interculturelle, prévention du suicide et deuil, harcèlement et traumatismes, comportements à risques et addictions, sexo-corporelle, pleine conscience, etc.) continuent d’élargir et d’enrichir mes compétences dans l'exercice de mon métier pour le plus grand bénéfice de mes clients.

Mes valeurs

En consultation, je me conforme à la Charte éthique de ma profession, et plus spécifiquement au code de déontologie des praticiens en psychothérapie relationnelle, tel qu'édicté par le Syndicat national des praticiens en psychothérapie relationnelle et psychanalyse (SNPPsy), dont je suis membre adhérente. Il est également à la disposition de tous mes clients sur simple demande.

J'accompagne chaque personne en toute confidentialité et dans le respect de son identité, de ses valeurs et de ses croyances.

J'écoute avec bienveillance et sans jugement; l'encouragement et l'empathie constituent les fondements de mon approche.

Mon approche

La démarche thérapeutique fait l'objet d'un travail en collaboration entre le client demandeur et son thérapeute.

Les personnes que j'accueille dans mon cabinet me trouvent généralement d'un abord facile. Leur décision de consulter m'inspire un grand respect. Je m'attache à leur apporter du soutien dans les situations qu'ils traversent et à valoriser leurs points forts pour leur donner confiance en leur capacités de sortir d'une passe délicate.

 

Mes clients viennent vers moi avec des questions surtout liées à des difficultés familiales ou conjugales, au déracinement, à des conflits intergénérationnels, des transitions de vie de toutes sortes (adolescence, chômage, adoption, déménagement, divorce, départ des enfants du foyer ou "nid vide", ménopause, retraite, devenir grand-parent ou beau-parent) et les pathologies qui les accompagnent : anxiété, troubles compulsifs, dépression, traumatisme, sentiment d'isolement et/ou d’inutilité, etc.

 

Un entretien téléphonique préalable nous permet de convenir d'un cadre de travail, en fonction du besoin et de la disponibilité de chacun.

Retrouver un équilibre de vie, retrouver la motivation, une place socialement satisfaisante, soulager la souffrance ou apaiser des conflits, apprendre à exercer une autorité mieux calibrée en tant que parent, tels sont les objectifs que je peux contribuer à réaliser, en travaillant aux côtés des personnes qui me sollicitent.

Veuillez consulter la page Mes services pour en savoir plus.

Mes outils

J'utilise la thérapie relationnelle, une approche psycho-dynamique qui apporte un grand soutien et s'adapte aux besoins de mes clients. J'interagis avec mes clients d'égal à égal et je les engage, grâce à l'encouragement, pour qu'il soient partie prenante dans le travail que nous faisons.

Je fais appel à la thérapie familiale systémique et parfois ponctuellement à la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale (TCC), si le traitement l'exige.

Je m'inscris donc dans une démarche intégrative qui me permet d'utiliser l'approche la plus adaptée au besoin de mon client avec comme objectif clair : son mieux-être.

La Discipline Positive est une ressource essentielle que j'utilise en guidance parentale.

Selon les besoins, jeux de rôles, relaxation ou encore dessin constituent quelques-uns de mes outils.

Veuillez consulter la page Mes services pour en savoir plus.

Tarifs

Thérapie individuelle (50 minutes) : 80 Euros

Thérapie de couple ou de famille (75 minutes) : 120 Euros